Behind the Scene

tumblr_m8bxm1sRNy1qjnc56o4_1280

Creativity is intelligence having fun” -Albert Einstein

People are always more complex than they appear. We’re  mosaics; simple experiences, like pieces of brilliantly colored glass, blended together to create an outward illustration that others are able to appreciate.

To write is daring to share each individual piece of glass with the world, and hope for a deeper empathy of the picture itself.

Simply, there’s a story behind every person you meet. As always, they’re just as elaborate and meaningful as your own; especially including your ever-so-typical adolescent blogger. *Insert sarcastic laughter here*

I’m writing today to share a few, entertaining pieces of myself with you.

As of a month ago, I am an independent working woman! (or so I like to think) I got my first job as a dog-washer at the local pet groomer, working after school and spending ten hours every Saturday scrubbing, clipping, and brushing the dogs that comes through. Combine this with my long awaited ability to drive on my own, and I’m at last feeling some responsibility for myself.

Responsibility, however, proves to be incredibly stressful. Balancing a job with studying tough high school classes while maintaining friendly relationships, keeping up with my larger than life family and finding ways to productively express myself keeps me incredibly busy. I may never be bored, but fulfilled- that’s another story.  I know I’m not the only one to struggle with feeling content with yourself at the end of the day.

Maybe it’s part of growing up, working hard all day to distract yourself from other issues. But I consider myself lucky- I find peace in books and a fulfillment in writing. I create goals for myself (for example, I’m currently working to save up for a MacBook) and find joy in reaching them.

My young, twenty-first century mosaic isn’t nearly as complete or sophisticated as others much older and wiser- and yet, it still matters. It’s still a collection of beautiful, diverse fragments of glass.

 

 

 

35 thoughts on “Behind the Scene

  1. aztraph

    I like your mosaic metaphor and how everyone has a story. It’s important to realize that there are no worthless individuals (even though some make an effort to behave that way).

    I talked to a dishwasher who was bemoaning his lot in life. I told him that his job was of such monumental importance, washing dishes so people don’t get sick and that indeed his job performance could effect countless lives in the far reaching future, that he felt good enough about his job to go ask for a raise. This is the essence of the butterfly effect, every action, every decision is of such profound importance that it can (or must) effect future probabilities. I like your chaos reference too.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thinking is what make people do a thing . I believe if you are not willing to learn, no one can help you. But if you are determined, no one can stop you. Appreciate your thinking and talent to write down in words

    Like

  3. jennyclifford91

    Fundamentally every life should have value, and recognizing the importance of another human’s life no matter what stage of development they may be at seems like a basis for being an empathetic, engaging and enlightened individual. It’s living with humility and it is this respect and appreciation for others that really brings out a person’s inner beauty.

    Like

  4. Sometimes it is not always about the age that presents the insight and knowledge, but the actual lived experiences that each being absorbs and journeys on. I can promise you that a being who is younger than I will have experiences that I can learn from. “What is a teacher? I’ll tell you: it isn’t someone who teaches something, but someone who inspires the student to give of her best in order to discover what she already knows.”
    ― Paulo Coelho

    Like

  5. This eloquently, almost poetically conveys who we are as humans insofar one can truly begin to imagine ourselves, and those around us, as mosaics. This was captivating to read and spoke volumes in such a short span of time.

    To be frank, however, no mosaic is ever truly complete; There is a plethora for us all to learn and comprehend, be it in youth or till we are old and decrepit.Thanks for such a great article!

    Like

  6. First of all, congrats on your new job, and your driver’s license!! both are great accomplishments!
    Second, thanks so much for following me!
    Third, I love this post. That pic is perfect for a beautiful mosaic of yourself! Did you create it?
    Melinda

    Like

  7. Nice post. We all do have our own beautiful stories. Just as it is liberating to share mine, so too is to come across beautiful ones like yours.
    Keep writing. Keep them coming.
    God bless.
    And thanks a lot for the follow. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

