Procrastination 

fonogenic02
I’ve proved to myself that I am, apparently, completely incapable of keeping a promise.

About 6 days ago I told myself- and then published online- that I would write a blog every day over the course of this summer. Obviously, that hasn’t been carried out. What is it about people (and especially teenagers) and procrastination?

Twenty-four hours every day, seven days a week, three-hundred and sixty-five days a year; in the moment crawling by with the speed of a snail until time sneaks up on you, filled with regretful hindsight and a malicious grin on its face. I mean, come on!

In addition to my failed attempt to keep a consistent blog going (I swear, I’m going to stick with it this time) I promised myself that I would
a) Run every single morning for an average of 4 miles (instead I’ve gotten about 4 miles worth of drowsy stumbling to the snooze button every morning) and
b)  Practice my guitar like I used to.

About three years ago, I played guitar in every spare moment I had- and I got pretty good at it too! But two boyfriends and two high schools later, I’d dropped the habit. I’m finding myself really getting back into it, but procrastination has been getting in the way.

Therefore, with goals constantly in the back of my mind, I’m going to give it another shot. Tomorrow I’m crashing the treadmill party at the YMCA and I already have plans to stay up late practicing. I’m insistent that this time, it’s going to work.

I just hope that once I hit the promised land of adulthood my unfortunate habit of procrastinating will fade away.

18 thoughts on “Procrastination 

  1. Take it from this adult – the habit doesn’t leave! One procrastinates doing something until there is either no value in doing that thing or it becomes just unavoidable! And usually these are things in which one doesn’t find any particular enjoyment. Nobody procrastinates watching the episodes of a favorite tv-series or a new movie with one’s favorite stars 🙂

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Love this post. Maybe you set smaller goals and increase them. Installing of saying “I’ll write a blog every day,” say “I’ll most a blog every Monday and Friday” or whatever. You can always increase the goal, but it sure makes you feel like a loser when you don’t keep your own promises to yourself. I should know. 🙂

    I’m gonna start following your blog. Love what I’ve seen of what you have to say! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I think it’s great that you aim to utilize your free time productively by reading, writing and playing the guitar more. I found your blog very interesting and relatable, as it’s something that I’m currently working on myself in terms of working on my own craft.

    I graduated in Business and Marketing at University a few years ago, and until this day I still find it rather difficult breaking into the Marketing industry due to my lack of experience. My argument in that case has always been: how can someone possibly gain experience if employers aren’t willing to give them a chance by taking them on in order to obtain the experience? Everyone has to start from somewhere surely. I eventually started to get fed up with it all and I decided to stop using it as an excuse for not reaching my career goal, seen as we’re the ones who have to take full responsibility for our own lives, nobody else. Since then, I’ve decided to take action and gain experience by investing in myself by reading more, researching, blogging, and also studying an online Digital Marketing course.

    Procrastination happens to the best of us at times but I have no doubt in my mind that you will reach your goals, so try not to be so hard on yourself. Perhaps you can beak down some of your goals and take them step by step and increase them along the way instead, like C.H Armstrong mentioned. That way you can still see progression and have that sense of achievement, and it will also allow you to make time for doing other things that you enjoy also.

    This is a great blog and I look forward to reading more from you in the future ☺. Keep up the good work and thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. esthefanygomez

    Thank you for the like, I had procrastinationitis this summer which sucked because now that I think about it, there is a lot that I could have gotten done. Oh well …

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Haha, I’m 29 and still thinking one day I’ll grow up and magically be self-disciplined. I’m starting to wonder if all the best qualities come not from age but from practice and endurance……

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

